top of page

Palazzo Ducale – "Doge's Palace"

PRICE: €€ VALUE: €€€€€

Doge's Palace one of the main stops for tourists, and rightfully so.

I got admission into the museum from the "CityPass" I purchased. There was a total of 3 lines; one for general ticket holders, one for the CityPass ticket holders, and one for tour groups. The lines were pretty long and they were only letting in about 15 people at a time. I waited for about 30-45 minutes. I did get to the museum pretty early in the day.

There were several other guided tours offered as well.

Was it worth it?

YES.

After finishing the walkthrough of the palace I said to my friend that I would have paid €21 just for this. The rooms were absolutely breathtaking. Each room is covered in gold and spectacular paintings. On top of the beauty the rooms were giant, making the fact that they were quite literally covered in art and gold even more impressive.

There were at least a dozen rooms to visit, and those were just the ones open to the general public without special tours. You saw the wealth, luxury, and importance of the Doge, while also seeing the isolation and and sorrow of the prison within the palace.

With each turn I was amazed with what I saw and so distracted by my wonder I barley read the signs with the history and information.

I would go back to Venice just to visit this museum again.

For more information on Doge's Palace click here.

bottom of page